Class of 1957 - 58


The Little Rock Nine was a group of African-American students who were enrolled in Little Rock Central High School in 1957. The ensuing Little Rock Crisis, in which the students were initially prevented from entering the racially segregated school by Arkansas Governor Orval Faubus, and then attended after the intervention of President Eisenhower, is considered to be one of the most important events in the African-American Civil Rights Movement.


Melba Pattillo Beals



Elizabeth Ann Eckford



Ernest Gideon Green



Gloria Cecelia Ray Karlmark



Carlotta Walls Lanier



Terrence James Roberts



Jefferson A. Thomas



Minnijean Brown Trickey



Thelma Jean Mothershed Wair